SOLD / Archived From 2017
Added to OHD on 9/21/17 - Last OHD Update: 2/14/18 - 7 Comments
Map: Street View
The Snyder place is one of the oldest houses in Amherst. Built by Moses Smith and his son Simeon in the 1760s, this saltbox is pictured and mentioned in Carpenter and Morehouse's 1896 History of Amherst. The current owners have loved and improved the property since 1957: a major restoration of the central chimney and the 4 fireplaces plus installation of a full basement was done in 1969; exterior walls and windows mirroring the multi-paned windows of the 18th century with twelve-over-twelve panes were completed in the 1990s; the 18th century timber frame shed, shop and garage were fully restored including slate roofs; the beautiful 19th century timber frame barn was fully restored with a wood shingle roof and white oak floors. Giving a nod to this century, there's a new septic system, 200 amp electric, and Buderus boiler. This unique property is beautifully sited and well off the road on a tranquil, flat 2-acre lot. Ready for its next owner, come be a part of this homes history!
Sold ByTami Gaylor, Five College Realtors (413) 549-5555
Links & Additional Info